For example, if the court found you to be 30% at fault and the other driver 70% at fault, and you suffered $10,000 in damages, the court would award you $7,000 in damages. Quick and easy access to MetLife customer support services and resources. If you’ve ever selected an insurance plan for you or your family, you’ve probably heard the terms “open enrollment” and “special enrollment.” But what do they mean?
The cost and frequency of claims and natural disasters in your area, among other factors, are taken into account by insurance companies when setting your rate. As you’ll see in the Tesla insurance rates by state below, rates can vary dramatically. Tesla Model 3 insurance cost is highest in Texas at $3,725 per year. Ohio, the state with the cheapest insurance for Tesla, is less than half the cost of Texas at $1,456 per year.
But if you have a home and investments, consider buying more insurance. If you don’t, you’re at risk for having your money and house taken to cover the cost of an accident. If you financed your car you will be required to get additional comprehensive and collision coverage. Like most auto insurance providers, USAA offers typical coverage plans, including bodily injury liability, collision and comprehensive coverage. Accident forgiveness, towing service, roadside assistance and coverage for ride-share drivers are also available. GEICO offers a wide variety of insurance products, including policies for cars, motorcycles, RVs, boats and ATVs.
Since you don’t hold the title to the car, you are expected to insure it just so that finance company knows that you can repair it or replace it after any common type of loss. If you elect to carry a minimum amount of protection and the worst happens, your drive to the store could cost you your income and your assets. And your car insurance is probably a little higher than someone who lives and works near your neighborhood. Earthquake Insurance is on most homeowners and business owners’ minds in Utah as the frequency of earthquakes increases, especially since most of our population lives on the Wasatch Fault Line. These seismic events can result in severe damage to your home and belongings, so we cannot recommend insurance enough. This type of insurance can be perceived as costly, but it is far more affordable than dealing with the aftermath of an earthquake without the proper coverage.
If you’re a good driver, you can typically obtain insurance coverage that meets Utah’s minimum requirements for a reasonable rate. It costs less to be insured than to pay the many fees for driving without insurance. As we mentioned earlier, car insurance companies look at a variety of risk factors when determining your rates.
While discounts are a great way of getting low rates, one of the best ways to keep your Utah car insurance affordable is bymaintaining a great driving record. Stay safe and obey traffic laws, and you’ll be well on your way to cheaper car insurance. If you do decide to go without health insurance, you may be able to qualify for a hardship exemption. That’s because you have to file a claim with your personal auto insurance carrier first. And, of course, that means your credit card issuer is not responsible for as much of the damages.
With just a few clicks you can look up the GEICO Insurance Agency partner your Professional Liability Policy is with to find policy service options and contact information. With just a few clicks you can look up the GEICO Insurance Agency partner your General Liability Policy is with to find policy service options and contact information. With just a few clicks you can look up the GEICO Insurance Agency partner your Business Owners Policy is with to find policy service options and contact information. If you are pulled over by a police officer for a traffic violation, youmust provide proof of insurance.
Construction Companies In West Virginia List 2021 Updated
Note that drivers who do not successfully complete the process to dismiss your tickets will receive a certain amount of points on their driving records and their vehicle insurance rates may be affected. To learn how to fight traffic tickets in UT and how to pay a traffic ticket, read the following sections. If you think you might be running up against the filing deadline, you may want to contact an experienced Utah car accident attorney.
Help is available, and it goes by the name of Utah Automobile Insurance Plan . Allstate provides all the regular options, as well as several additional coverages, such as sound system and roadside coverage. It is also in good shape financially, earning an impressive “A+” rating from A.M. Look Elsewhere if you want nothing but the best customer service. What kind of vehicles are Utahns riding in or driving when they’re in a deadly car crash? The table below shows fatalities by passenger type from 2013 to 2017.
The site also has reviews of different insurance providers and numerous tips for picking the best policy. Nerdwallet is rated 4.4 out of 5 from 2,840 user reviews on ShopperApproved. Nerdwallet’s car insurance comparison product is enabled by a partnership with insure.com. The site offers a wide variety of insurance companies to choose from, an easy-to-use interface, and can effectively service drivers in all segments of the market. To date, it has delivered millions of car insurance quotes from top providers such as The General, MetLife, and Liberty Mutual. And whether you live in Massachusetts and Michigan, Insurify’s got you covered––the site provides quotes for motorists in all fifty states.
Payments for the damages to the other driver’s car, as well as payments for injury claims for the driver and passenger, would be paid out under this same coverage. If your car is worth $40,000 or even $85,000 you’re going to pay more for these protective coverages than someone with a car worth $25,000 because the insurer would have to pay out more if you totaled your car. Next, list some of your favorite Utah car insurance companies, based on the reviews you’ve read. Then visit the company websites and compare quotes online from different insurance companies, and also for different Utah zip codes from the same insurance company. For instance, you could get a quote for your home zip code, a quote for your work zip code, and a quote for your school zip code.
And, if you do not fix your car, that amount of damage will likely reduce its value in future losses. James Shaffer is a writer for InsurancePanda.com and a well-seasoned auto insurance industry veteran. He has a deep knowledge of insurance rules and regulations and is passionate about helping drivers save money on auto insurance. He is responsible for researching and writing about anything auto insurance-related.
- Discounts and their availability may vary by state and eligibility requirements.
- Liability insurance covers only the other car and/or that car’s driver and passengers when you are found at fault for the accident.
- The good news is that you don’t really need to worry about this technical process — your insurer will file claims with the state department.
- This is your guide to Utah’s basic vehicle insurance requirements and laws.
- The only states with a lower percentage of uninsured drivers than Utah are New York, Maine, and Massachusetts.
Each insurer has sole financial responsibility for its own insurance. Not all products, coverages, features and discounts are available in every state and may vary by state. SmartFinancial’s home page bills itself as the “smart and easy way to shop insurance”. The quote processing tool promises to provide quotes for auto, home, health, and life insurance in minutes, among other insurance types. Unlike Insurify and The Zebra, some comparison sites primarily provide asynchronous quotes, rather than automatically-generated real-time ones. That means that customers usually don’t get to see their car insurance quotes instantly, and have to wait instead.
Do I Have To Get Insurance Through Avis To Rent A Car?
You don’t need to wait until our state rankings come out to shop your coverage. Any life event is a good reason to shop around looking for a better deal on car insurance. Hurricanes and hailstorms can cause major vehicle damage and insurers have to repair or replace those vehicles. Higher weather risks will always lead to higher premiums for everyone, particularly for comprehensive insurance.
Ranked the No. 1 auto insurer in California, Esurance is making inroads around the country . A division of Allstate, Esurance promises customers that switching or signing up for car insurance can be as easy as possible, or “painless,” as the company puts it. It offers auto, motorcycle, renters and homeowners insurance. Esurance also offers a policy meant to help fill gaps in coverage for Uber and Lyft drivers.
The amount you pay is determined by a number of factors, including your driving record, your vehicle, where you live and more. Enter your ZIP code and you could find the best temporary car insurance rates by comparing our cheapest car insurance quotes today. You also have the option to purchase Additional Liability Insurance to protect you against claims from others, such as passengers in other vehicles.
The best way to get the cheapest car insurance in Utah and save on your auto insurance premium is to compare quotes from all companies in your area. Use a car insurance quotes comparison site like Insurify to compare up to 10+ real quotes for your specific driver profile and unlock savings and discounts. Rates can fluctuate greatly based on whether you’re a safe driver or a high risk one, but you should never overpay. Insurify provides the cheapest car insurance quotes and companies in your area in just a few seconds.
The amount purchased cannot be less than the minimum limits for bodily injury and property damage liability insurance. An insurance company is required to offer a split limit of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, or a single limit of $300,000. However, the amount of UM/UIM cannot exceed the amount of bodily injury coverage purchased.
What Do Insurance Agents In Utah Do?
That’s a whopping 99% more than the national average of $1,428 and 34% more than second-place Michigan. Car insurance in Louisiana is now three times more expensive than in Maine. Maine has the cheapest car insurance rate, where you will pay an average of $858 a year. Please remember that the preceding descriptions contain only a general description of available coverages and are not a statement of contract. All coverages are subject to all policy provisions and applicable endorsements. To learn more about auto insurance coverage in your state, find a State Farm agent.
Its Good Driver program rewards you for being accident-free for five years with potential savings of up to 26%. GEICO also offers discounts for new vehicles, having airbags and having an anti-theft system in your vehicle. Now that you’re signed up, we’ll send you deadline reminders, plus tips about how to get enrolled, stay enrolled, and get the most from your health insurance. The District of Columbia is neither a true no-fault nor add-on state.
When you join a mutual company like Amica, there are no shareholders as there are with other public companies. You become a part owner of the company when you sign up for insurance. You don’t need to get a safety inspection to register your car. However, if you have a commercial vehicle, you need proof of a safety inspection in your vehicle to show law enforcement if requested.
For most travelers and circumstances, credit card or third-party coverage is sufficient, and primary coverage is a lot better than secondary. “Diminished value,” or the potential loss of the car’s resale value when the rental company disposes of it, usually within two years. Depending on your needs and your vehicle, you can choose which level plan is best suited to your situation. Every year when your policy comes up for renewal, we automatically check to make sure you’re still getting the best rate.
This oftentimes is a result of owning multiple vehicles that are on the same policy, something some companies will reward with discounts. A typical at-fault state would hold the at-fault driver liable for all accident costs, such as property damage or injury costs. The catch is that companies in Utah are allowed to deny you coverage for being a high-risk driver.
Your demographics such as age, gender, marital status, credit score and profession can impact your rate. This feature has various options that offer greater coverage for your new vehicle. Collision coverage is used to repair your vehicle when physical damage occurs from collision with another vehicle or object . Reimburses a portion of wage loss, medical expenses and essential services incurred as a result of an accident to eligible injured parties (i.e. passengers or pedestrians). Property damage safeguards your assets if you are found legally responsible for a covered accident. It covers certain damage you may cause to the property or vehicle of another party.
The reduced notification time allows insurers to look at the treatment plan sooner, thus providing fewer opportunities for unnecessary diagnostic tests and treatments. If you’re confused about poorly written car insurance laws, you aren’t alone. Considering how complicated collision coverage, deductibles, and mandatory minimums can be, it’s no wonder many drivers turn to attorneys for help deciphering the jargon. Connect with an attorney who specializes in car accidents and insurance to help navigate the complexities of the law. Below, you will find a state-by-state chart of car insurance laws, including the type of liability insurance you are required to carry and basic minimums for each coverage type.
This is one of the four priciest zip codes to buy Utah car insurance. Unfortunately, the minimum state-mandated coverage amounts are usually not high enough to pay the cost of actual auto accidents. Utah Home Insurance—When something happens to your home, the right policy will help you put everything back together. It can also protect you when someone is injured on your property and sues. Arrange coverage for theft, fire, and other events for your home or condominium. If you’re renting, choose rental insurance to protect your belongings.
A large percentage of drivers each year get left picking up the pieces in the aftermath all because they thought they were covered as a driver. Unfortunately, there is no way to fix this situation after an accident. You could be helping a friend move a car or multiple cars need to be sure you have the necessary temporary insurance to move a vehicle so you’re covered for this. I sold the home in a quick sale,as is I am not going to do the repairs. Insurance company cancelled my home owners insurance after they paid the claim.Can I keep the checks since the repairs won’t be needed? Hit and run driver rear-ended car and caused damage to the rear bumper, but car is drivable and very sound.
He holds a bachelor’s degree from Bentley University and his work has been quoted by NBC News, CNN, and The Washington Post. Up above, we mentioned that true self-insured car insurance only makes sense for people with a lot of money or a lot of cars . In this situation, you may be better off with self-insured car insurance instead of individual policies for triple aaa car insurance each vehicle. It’s important to note that you must have a valid driver’s license to purchase a non-owners policy because it is the law to have a license if you plan to operate a motor vehicle, regardless of who owns the car. Reduce the liability coverage, too, as you are not at risk of getting into an accident on the road if you are not behind the wheel.
In a year when most states saw rate declines, the cost of car insurance in Louisiana bumped up 19%. Insurers also consider the claim rates of the vehicle you are driving. This means that if your car is a favorite of car thieves or ends up in more crashes, you will pay more for car insurance regardless of whether you’ve ever made a claim.
To find cheap auto insurance for seniors, drivers in their mid-60s should make sure to shop around to find the best rate. Drivers in this age group should also take advantage of any available discounts for senior citizens. CarInsurance.org has one simple mission – to help consumers learn about car insurance and get free car insurance quotes online. The low average premium is likely due in part to Geico’s generous discounts, which include customer loyalty, car safety equipment, driving history and more.
This is important as your previous insurer will notify the DPS of any lapse in coverage or cancellation to an insurance policy automatically. If your new insurance agency does not report to the DPS, you could face further consequences. Get free quotes from the nation’s biggest auto insurance providers. There is no set number of claims you can make on your auto insurance record, although more than one auto insurance claim in a single year can cause your insurer to see red flags.
Other ways include death, dismemberment, permanent impairment, or having a permanent disfiguring injury. All vehicles registered in Utah must have at least minimum coverage unless they are off-highway vehicles. When you work with an independent insurance agent, you get the best of both worlds. Since they have access to several carriers, they can find the best coverage and pricing in town. When it comes to car insurance, everyone’s demands are different. In addition to having car insurance, Utah also requires proof of that insurance during a police stop, electronic evidence is acceptable.
Towing and Roadside Service provides 24/7 roadside assistance if your car is disabled and helps pay for tire changing, locksmith service and jumpstarts. DMV.org is a privately-owned site that helps drivers interact with their local Department of Motor Vehicles. This site is not an official government agency, but acts as a middleman between you and your local DMV. For example, a visitor may renew their vehicle registration or driver’s license on the site for an additional fee. DMV.org is rated 4.3 out of 5, and has 23,147 user reviews on Trustpilot.
Different ridesharing companies may have varying requirements, but the above requirements are good guidelines to start off of. Remember that these are the maximum speed limits, so pay attention to speed limit signs as speed shopping for car insurance limits will vary. While no-one likes receiving a speeding ticket, speed limits make sure drivers don’t consistently travel at dangerously high speeds. Below, we have posted the MAXIMUM speed limits for Utah’s roads.
That being said, car insurance rates in Salt Lake City are more affordable than the national average. The average monthly payment for the United States as a whole is about $15 more expensive than in Salt Lake City. We’ve talked about liability coverage before, which Utah requires all drivers to have.
If you are traveling with a team or other group, you will be required to provide your own Group Liability Insurance. You can also get partially self-insured by raising your deductible. If you maximize your deductible, then you’re getting lower premiums in exchange for paying a higher one-time fee in the event of a claim. Once you’ve verified you have a sufficient number of vehicles, then you typically need to deposit money with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles .
Missed Payments – There are times when clients accidentally forget to pay for their monthly car insurance plans. This might cause the insurance policy to lapse or terminate prematurely – and that means you’ll suddenly be driving without coverage just because you paid the premiums one day too late. Monthly car insurances simply refer to the payment of auto insurance premiums by the month. Most policies cover a period of three, six, or twelve months, and most of these policies require the client to pay for the coverage at the end of the period of coverage. Liability insurance compensates a person other than the policy holder for personal injury or property damage.
Teen drivers hike Utah car insurance 89 percent, report says – Deseret News http://t.co/2MnCpJm0d7
— Lisa M. Sassone, Esq (@ssdiLaw) July 21, 2014
Keep in mind, insurance companies often only allow one or two carriers to access and make changes to the policy. The automotive industry isn’t happy to hear that the 21st century has officially been declared as the end of the car age. More and more people are connected by public transportation and vehicle sharing services, and it reduces the average person’s dependence on their vehicle. A non-owner policy affords you some form of low-cost liability coverage when you’re renting a car or borrowing a car from someone you don’t live with. Those who use their cars a lot are a higher exposure to risk and those you use their car less aren’t – exposed to loss as often. The less that you’re exposed to a potential loss, the less that you’ll pay for your insurance.
For example, you can choose a usage-based car insurance policy that will only charge you for the miles you drive. This type of policy will still allow you to drive legally, but the less you drive, the more you save. Commonly, temporary insurance policies are taken out for anywhere from one to 28 days. You should have a temporary policy for however long you need to make sure you are an insured motorist. Sometimes renters ask, “I don’t have car insurance—can I still rent a car?
You have worked hard to build your business and we wouldn’t want to see anything happen to it that can be avoided with the correct insurance coverage. Whether you need to speak with one of our car insurance brokers or a broker about property damages, you can rely on us. We offer everything that you’ll need to protect yourself and your employees.
Analysts recommend coverage amounts of $100,000 for personal injury protection, $300,000 for bodily injury to others, and no less than $50,000 to cover the cost of property damage. If you’re under 40 years old in the state of Utah, you will likely pay more for auto insurance coverage than the average driver. Since inexperienced drivers pose a higher risk for insurance providers, their rates are often significantly higher.
Premium rates are typically determined by the driver’s traffic record, as well as by the driver’s zip code demographics. The first thing Utah drivers should do is to read several recent consumer reviews from several different major Utah car insurance companies. These companies tend to be competitive, with each carrier targeting particular demographic segments of populations. To pick the car insurance company that’s best for you, try reading consumer reviews. As you can probably tell, the most popular insurance companies in Utah seem to be State Farm Group, Farmers Insurance, and Allstate Insurance.
Report: Utah car insurance increases 89 percent when adding teens: Car insurance costs 89 percent more after U… http://t.co/t1vS4sFbqO
— Vincii Williams ● (@vinciiwilliams) July 20, 2014
Comparatively, lower loss ratios mean that a company is more financially stable but, perhaps, less likely to pay out claims. Check out the sections below to make your search for affordable car insurance in Utah a bit easier. Or enter your ZIP code below to get started on a quote today. When it comes to understanding your area’s specific car car and homeowners insurance insurance considerations, working with a local agent can be helpful. Our insurance team is composed of agents, data analysts, and customers like you. They focus on the points consumers care about most — price, customer service, policy features and savings opportunities — so you can feel confident about which provider is right for you.
When you file a claim on a rental car incident, the primary policy is the one that is going to be used first. Several permits and licenses are needed to operate a car rental business and they vary by state, locality and municipality. Other licenses and permits needed are peculiar to the car rental business. You don’t even have to be driving an uninsured vehicle to fall foul of the law. It also revealed that the economic impact of uninsured driving is approximately £400 million.
Power Home Insurance Study, with a customer satisfaction rating of 843 out of 1,000. The provider has earned fantastic credit and consumer ratings, and it offers standard homeowners policies that include all the coverages many homeowners need. But we’re most impressed with Auto-Owners’ optional coverages, which can save you a bundle of money when you need them. American Family provides reliable homeowners insurance with options to purchase extra coverage to fully customize policies. American Family is a particularly great option for new homeowners because of its resources for first-time homeowners insurance buyers.
So, for most drivers, that means you’ll have to file a claim with your personal auto insurance first and then use the secondary coverage for additional help. If you are planning to have employees–front office or out on the lot, you will need a federal tax identification number and a state tax ID number as well. You will need to determine the types of cars to rent as well as the size of your fleet.
You can’t drive, store, or tow a vehicle on public highways while it is deemed PNO. Our founder, Kim L. Cowdell, is licensed to sell insurance in the state of Utah. He started from the ground up and knocked on many doors throughout the Salt Lake valley. He worked with Prudential Insurance for over twenty years, and went out with a bang as their top producing agent. Motion Auto only has one customer review on the BBB — the customer had a poor experience waiting for a rep to help with canceling the policy.
This required coverage doesn’t mean you have to spend a lot of money. If you have a car that doesn’t run, you will still need auto insurance. That will make it more challenging for you when getting car insurance for any other vehicles.
However, not all sites thatclaimto provide insurance quotes are the real thing. How much you’ll pay depends on a number of factors and will vary by company. But that doesn’t mean your rate is entirely out of your control. While there are factors you can’t easily change –– your age and where you live, there are still some things you can do to find savings. To get the best deal for your circumstances, conduct a car insurance comparison.
The health and safety of our clients, employees, and partners are our top priority and focus. If UIM is purchased, it must be at least $50,000 per person injured in any one accident and $100,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. Insurance discounts are available for 3 years following the completion of a motorcycle accident prevention course.
Unfortunately, not all auto insurance policies are created equal. That’s why it’s important to talk with an independent agent before you buy your insurance. We have your best interests at heart—not a monthly sales goal. Drivers in Utah can expect to pay an average of $536 per year for the state minimum required car insurance.
If so, you will need to fill out an SR-22 form to purchase high-risk insurance. Sometimes, the higher price for a higher coverage level can be a deterrent to people. When you compare coverage level costs, though, some companies offer economical increases in coverage level that don’t overly strain your funds. Now that we’ve looked at financial ratings and customer service, let’s dig deeper into the companies by looking at complaint ratios for 2018. JD Power ranked State Farm, one of the largest companies in Utah, as better than most.
On the other hand, more serious violations may result in an immediate mandatory suspension or revocation of your driving license, instead of the accumulation of points. The state Department of Public Safety implements the point system under its Driver Improvement Program . The Utah Department of Public Safety may also ask the drivers involved in the crash to prepare a traffic accident report. If so, the report must be filed with the department within 10 days of the request.
Information regarding chemicals should be available to employees along with early warning signs of problems. Pickup and delivery of customers or vehicles can result in injury due to vehicular accidents. Spillage and leaking of pollutants into the air, ground, or water can result in high cleanup costs and fines. Spill procedures must be in place to prevent the accidental discharge of sludge from water reclamation systems used in washing vehicles. Product liability exposures are high if used vehicles are sold directly to the general public.
Knowing whether you have enough insurance for your needs depends on how much risk you are willing to take. If you do not have enough money to cover damages, you’ll have to pay out-of-pocket. State minimum insurance requirements are thecar insurancelaws for each state. These laws can usually be found on thestate insurance commissioner’s website. Refer to the list above for rules on whether your state requires insurers to pay or reimburse sales tax, title, and registration costs in total-loss settlements.
Your policy doesn’t have to cost a fortune if you put in the time to shop around. Use your time wisely and log onto the Internet to comparison shop rates on a single platform. Although the reliance on vehicles in the United States is still very prevalent, some vehicle owners make the conscious decision to drive their cars only occasionally. These cars still need to be insured, even if they act more as a decoration the driveway than a mode of transportation. We want to help you make the right car insurance coverage choices.
For drivers in Utah, collision costs an average of $417 yearly, comprehensive is $106, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. If you buy comp and collision, check our guide to choosing a deductible amount. Michelle is a writer, editor and expert on car insurance and personal finance. Prior to joining CarInsurance.com, she reported and edited articles on technology, lifestyle, education and government for magazines, websites and major newspapers, including the New York Daily News. So what happens if you throw caution to the wind, and decide not to comply with Utah’s mandatory car insurance guidelines? Well, in Utah, it’s tough to slip past Johnny Law, the real deal and his virtual counterpart.
Too many drivers assume this is part of their standard car insurance coverage and it is not. Even vandalism can be covered in a temporary insurance policy but only if you make sure it is included. Also, if items are stolen out of your car, your auto insurance doesn’t cover them.
If chosen, UM must be purchased in an amount of at least the minimum bodily injury coverage required. UM does not include underinsured motorist coverage, and Wyoming has no statute that addresses UIM coverage. The split limit is $25,000 per person injured in any one accident and $65,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
The minimum amount required is $15,000 per person injured in any one accident and $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident. Delaware also requires motor vehicle owners to purchase coverage for funeral expenses. The law further requires coverage for lost earnings, but no amount is specified. Taking the time to make a car insurance comparison can give you the biggest bang for your buck. Because quotes can vary so much by company, there can be substantial potential savings by comparison shopping.
Collision coverage provides compensation for damages to your vehicle caused by a collision with another vehicle or object. We’ve been able to determine the speediest cities in the nation, the most popular cars among age groups, and the occupations with the worst drivers, among other insightful reports. We’ve also launched annual awards campaigns to congratulate the communities across the country who have excelled in environmentally friendly initiatives, educational attainment, and other areas. All motor vehicles operated or parked onUtahroadways are required to be insured. Your career as an insurance agent starts with earning the right licenses.
It’s only available for military members, veterans and their families, but among our sample insurers, it was the cheapest option by far. JERRY INSURANCE AGENCY is a licensed insurance agency in 50 states. Here is a breakdown of Utah’s minimum limits and what they will protect against. In total, Utah drivers need to carry four types of coverages.
Unemployment seems high compared with the state average, but the poverty rate is shockingly low. The population density is quite low, although the unemployment and poverty rates are above the state averages. Less than 2,000 people live in this Washington County neighborhood. The unemployment rate is more than three times the state average, but the poverty rate is well below the state average.
User-based insurance model means safe and infrequent drivers save more. Consider your commute to work or school, errands you run frequently and trips to visit family or friends. You can use an online maps tool to input addresses and figure out just how many miles you drive each month.