Below you can see average rates by company for drivers age 65 and over, buying a full coverage policy. Collision and comprehensive insurance are available, but not required. Additionally, while insurance companies must include Tennessee drivers uninsured motorist coverage at those same levels in their policies, drivers can choose to decline this provision. Think hard about this decision as the coverage provides security in the event that you have an accident with an uninsured motorist. In Tennessee, an estimated 20-percent of drivers are uninsured. Paying your premiums is only half the battle; the state also necessitates that drivers keep proof of insurance on them at all times.
If you need to file an SR22 form with Tennessee we can help you find auto insurance quotes to compare online. Each company we work with understands exactly what is required for a non-owner SR22 insurance policy or even if you own a vehicle they can help too. If you’re under 40 years old in the state of Tennessee, you will likely pay more for auto insurance coverage than the average driver. Since inexperienced drivers pose a higher risk for insurance providers, their rates are often significantly higher. Tennessee Farmers offers the cheapest car insurance rates for young drivers, averaging $25 a month.
However, not all insurance companies follow this guideline; some companies require you to add the teen and start paying premiums for him once he has received his permit. Thus, you should contact your car insurance provider before your child gets his or her permit to find out when your current insurer requires you to add your teen driver. The average Compare.com user pays $2,703 for Connecticut car insurance.
In a comparative negligence state like Tennessee, proving fault can at times seem difficult. David Gordon is one of the fewer than 2% of Tennessee lawyers who are Board Certified by the Tennessee Supreme Court. Our experienced car accident lawyers have the know-how to help you prove fault in your personal injury case and increase your chances of securing compensation in court or in a settlement. If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident, contactDavid Gordon Lawtoday by phone or online for a free consultation. Under Tennessee law, any driver who is found to be 50% or more at fault is legally barred from recovering any damages in a personal injury suit.
We should just note that younger drivers will have to call the agent to get a quote—the online option is unavailable to them. Besides FBIT, Erie and Progressive are worthy options in Memphis. Despite being a regional company, FBIT is the finest auto insurance provider in Tennessee.
You can determine your vehicle’s value at Edmunds.com, KBB.com or NADA.com. Each quote should be based on the same amount of coverage so you can do an apples-to-apples comparison. Because NJM is a mutual company, policyholders get an annual dividend each year. For example, auto insurance customers received a regular dividend of 5%, applied as a credit upon renewal, and a special dividend of 5% sent as a check during a recent year. When you loan your car to anyone who is not listed on your policy , your policy takes the “primary coverage” status.
Property Damage Liability Insurance
Make sure you have an active car insurance policy when registering your vehicle. In the previous article, I talked about liability insurance in Tennessee in detail, but only briefly mentioned uninsured motorist (“UM”) and underinsured motorist (“UIM”) coverage. This blog post will be about UM and UIM coverage more specifically. Once required to obtain SR22, you will be required to maintain that insurance for a period of three to five years, depending on your circumstances and the nature of your conviction. During this period of time, you must maintain your insurance, even if you no longer have a vehicle. If you acquire a new vehicle, you will need to have your insurance agency complete a new form right away.
Discounts on vehicle safety equipment, such as air bags, are easy to get. Make sure to get a bundling discount by buying from the same company if you need more than one type of insurance policy. Another strategy is to bundle your auto insurance with another policy, such as homeowners or renters.
Auto insurance protects you from financial losses such as vehicle repairs, medical bills, and legal services that could result from an auto accident. To get the best value for your money, you must take responsibility for your auto insurance purchase. Motorists can also obtain auto insurance from the nonstandard portion of the private market. The nonstandard market is a niche market for drivers who have a worse than average driving record or drive specialized vehicles such as high-powered sports cars or custom-built cars.
Compare here and find the cheapest premium with the best coverage. You can count on our local, independent agents to help you make good decisions about your insurance protection. By shopping around, you can afford more than the minimum required insurance without breaking the bank.
What Determines Your Auto Insurance Premium?
Our attorneys have handled claims on behalf of policyholders who were told that they were not entitled to compensation for injuries or property damage because their losses were not as substantial as reported. In other cases, we have witnessed insurers incorrectly assign fault to our clients to avoid payment and to increase premiums. Companies acting in bad faith or handling claims unfairly are most likely to deny your claims without justification. We’ll help estimate the coverage you need and provide a quote to give you a better idea of the cost you might pay to protect your loved ones’ future. One of the most common laws is uninsured or underinsured motorist protection. RetailRead valuable Tennessee retail insurance policy information.
The Tennessee Department of Safety allows drivers who don’t want to purchase the minimum state car insurance limits to provide alternative proof of financial responsibility. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, lets you tailor your policy, and helps you switch plans. Jerry will even cancel your old policy and handle your renewals so you don’t have to.
When it comes to the state minimums, we typically recommend a higher level of coverage to keep you protected when you need it most. Some different types of coverage to know in Tennessee include PIP or Personal Injury Protection/Medical Liability protection. This type of coverage will help you pay your or your passengers’ medical expenses or lost wages if there’s an injury or accident. The structure of your insurance policy will depend on whether you get the minimum or the full coverage, as well as on the company you get it from. Farm Bureau has not been COVID-19 friendly and somewhat misleading.
Shopping For Car Insurance In Tennessee
The Legal Examiner and our Affiliate Network strive to be the place you look to for news, context, and more, wherever your life intersects with the law. It is important to be aware of who needs SR22 insurance in order to better prepare you for possible convictions or suspensions. SR22 insurance is reserved for individuals who are convicted of particular vehicle-related violations, such as driving under the influence or vehicular manslaughter. After holding the intermediate license for 12 months, the teen is eligible for an unrestricted intermediate license. This license still shows “INTERMEDIATE” on the front but the driver isn’t subject to any curfew or passenger restrictions.
Your commercial vehicle insurance coverage should be customized to meet your specific business needs. When searching for the right policy, you may find it beneficial to enlist the help of an independent insurance agent in our network. These agents can answer your insurance-related questions and can help you compare a variety of competitively-priced commercial vehicle policies. Our agents can be found in several locations throughout the state, so you may be able to find one located conveniently close to your home or business.
The Texas statute we’ll be discussing here imposes parental accountability for property damage in certain situations. Where the oldsters aren’t the owners of the vehicle their child was driving, the vehicle owner is known as within the lawsuit. Within the event that the damages awarded exceed your limit of insurance, you’ll be held liable for paying the additional portion of the costs.
Car insurance prices vary substantially depending on where you call home. To verify how much premiums cost in each city, we gathered quotes with full coverage limits from all the major insurance companies in Tennessee. Our vehicle of choice was a 2018 Honda Accord, and our annual mileage was 10,000. And it’s not just the affordable prices that make Progressive an excellent choice. The company is an insurer with a long tradition and solid financial footing.
With both cheaper premiums and additional safe driving discounts, it can really pay to have a record free of accidents or traffic tickets. The Insurify Composite Score is calculated by analyzing multiple factors that indicate the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys, mobile app reviews, and user-generated carrier reviews. The following are the top rated carriers that offer car insurance in Tennessee. For the complete list, see Insurify’s best car insurance companies.
Tennessee auto insurance verification system is on the way https://t.co/jmZKfrCrYH
— i Want a Insurance (@iwantainsurance) December 28, 2016
With a novice driver behind the wheel, keeping high-liability limits is a must since it covers injury or property damage that your teen may cause to others. But if your teen’s car isn’t worth much, consider dropping comprehensive and collision. Comp and collision cover your car, so decide if you need those coverages or if you would rather save on insurance rates by dropping them. American drivers are always encouraged to read recent consumer reviews of car insurance companies, to decide which one to choose.
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed driver licensing offices, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. If possible, residents should use the DDS’online servicesto complete any relevant transactions. This website is for informational purposes only and does not provide legal advice.
Power has offices serving North America, Asia Pacific and Europe. You can get multiple quotes, and you’ll have access to all the insurers the broker does business with. It’s an easy one-stop-shop that still gives you the flexibility of comparison pricing.
To save money, insurance companies often use aftermarket parts when they replace or repair parts on your vehicle. Original Equipment Manufacturer endorsement coverage ensures that the same parts your manufacturer safety tested and used to originally build your vehicle will be used on your car. Though it comes with all the bells and whistles, premium auto insurance coverage may also come at a premium cost.
Always inform your vehicle insurance agent when you are taking precautions against theft to enjoy a price reduction or discount. You’ll see in the chart below which car insurance companies have the lowest rates for young drivers buying a full coverage policy. Average car insurance rates by age data shows that drivers typically pay higher rates until age 26, when rates begin to drop as drivers gain more experience on the road. But even young drivers can save money by comparing car insurance rates to see which company has the lowest rates, by qualifying for student discounts and by staying on their parents’ policy as long as possible. In addition to the standard auto insurance coverages you expect from major car insurance companies, Progressive offers a few extras to customize your car insurance needs. For example, custom parts and equipment up to $5,000, gap insurance and rideshare coverage are available for Tennessee drivers.
West Tennessee Street
In regard to job growth, the state of Tennessee is exceeds the rate of national job growth. As of February 2021, unemployment rates were at a historic low in The Volunteer State, with a rate of 3.2% throughout the state; 0.1% lower than the last historic low of 3.3% in October of 2018. That’s lower than the national unemployment rate, which was reported to be 3.8% in February of 2019.
Many insurers offer small discounts for paying by EFT and receiving bills and policies electronically. State minimum insurance requirements are thecar insurancelaws for each state. These laws can usually be found on thestate insurance commissioner’s website. Tennessee motor vehicle dealer bonds remain valid for 2 years, must start on the first day of the month and expire on the same date as the principal’s business license.
Reviews.com scores products, services and companies using five quantifiable criteria to help readers choose the best one for them. These scores were created with our readers in mind and are meant to be a helpful tool to simplify the process of choosing which car insurance company is best for you. Tennessee is a “fault” state, meaning the person who causes an accident bears any financial responsibility. The liability insurance that Tennessee requires is intended to cover any bodily injury or property damage for the at-fault driver. You can typically get auto insurance discounts in Tennessee through safe driver discounts and by bundling your home and auto insurance policies together. If you have a clean driving record, ask your insurance advisor if you qualify for any safe driver discounts.
Whether you’re interested in selling property and casualty insurance, life insurance, health insurance, or any combination of those lines of authority, this article has the information you need to get started. Not all businesses need all types of commercial vehicle coverage options. For example, a pizza shop with a fleet of delivery vehicles will not need bobtail insurance, and a construction company that does use only company vehicles may not need non-owned vehicle coverage. You can work with an insurance professional to design a policy that is right for your business. Professionally owned and operated independent insurance agencies provide our insurance products to customers with exceptional service and advice.
The national unemployment rate was an impressively low4.1 percentin March 2018. Tennessee, however, has that national number beat with a rate of3.4 percent unemployment. This excellent news can shed a little light on driving behavior, even though the rate of employment may seem unrelated to driving. That’s because when the unemployment rate is low, there are more commuters on the road, since employed people generally have to drive to get to work. During that same year, licensed drivers in Tennessee racked up nearly 2000 miles more, averaging 15,462 miles for the year. Since much of Tennessee is car-dependent, it should come as no surprise that drivers in the Volunteer State put more miles on their cars than the national average.
Tennessee law requires drivers to obtain at least a minimum amount of liability car insurance. Auto insurance premiums differ depending on what state you live in and even where you live in that state. This is because each geographic location has its own specific rating factors. These factors include the amount of minimum required insurance, the likelihood of being in an accident, how severe accidents tend to be and the likelihood of non-accident related claims like hail damage or theft.
May cover the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle if you’re involved in a crash, no matter who was at fault. In the appraisal clause process, each side will select a competent appraiser to assess the loss. Each side will be responsible for paying their chosen appraiser.
If you need auto glass replacement, you could waive your deductible by adding full glass. Fortunately, those living in the following eight states have zero deductible coverage available to them. In Arizona, Arkansas, California, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, and Washington, the customer has the right to choose a vendor.
Because of the legal implications, it is very important to understand why that is. Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. Farm Bureau Insurance of Tennessee has also received Ward’s Top 50 recognition.
Optional coverages offer extra financial protection and peace of mind in the event of an accident. This coverage covers the costs for property damage and usually includes the victim’s car. If someone else is at fault, your provider might file a claim against the at-fault driver’s provider.
- When I received my renewal invoice email on May 13th for a June 1, 2020 renewal the discount was not applied.
- The Simple Dollar is an independent, advertising-supported publisher and comparison service.
- Compare plan options to see premiums and deductibles that fit your budget.
- Loss of use coverage, also known as rental coverage, provides reimbursement for rental expenses associated with having an insured vehicle repaired due to a covered loss.
- Drivers in Nashville can find the cheapest insurance rates with Erie Insurance.
Have successfully completed the State Farm Steer Clear program. The program includes video content regarding safe driving behaviors and requires the driver to track some of their driving experiences. You could save on motorcycle insurance if you have voluntarily completed an approved novice or advanced motorcycle training course within the past year. Proof of eligibility is required when an application for insurance is submitted.
Location has a lot to do with your car insurance rates — we’ve got every city and town in Tennessee mapped out below — but so does the insurance company and car insurance discounts you find. The cheapest carrier in any ZIP code usually charges hundreds of dollars less than the most expensive. You’ll see the average rate, as well as the highest and lowest, for your neighborhood. You can save on senior auto insurance rates in Wartrace, Tennessee by comparing Wartrace senior car insurance quotes from multiple companies. Take a look at the average cost of auto insurance for seniors in Wartrace, TN here.
If your child hits a mailbox and causes $700 worth of damage and you have a $1,000 deductible, you don’t need to make a claim. Yes, you’re out the cost of repairs, but your insurer doesn’t know about the incident. Therefore, it won’t raise your rates due to your child’s single-car accident. Another reason to exclude your young driver is if you have a specialty or expensive car to insure that your child is never going to be allowed to drive. Adding him as even a secondary driver might be a cost you don’t want to pay. Then, you can ask your insurer about excluding him from just this one vehicle.
From low down payments to low monthly payments, multiple discounts to multiple ways to pay, you really can have it all when you choose Direct Auto. Depending on your situation, that could even mean cheaper, more affordable car insurance. When the person at fault for an accident does not have motor insurance, Uninsured Motorist coverages will cover damages, medical treatment, and lost wages. If your injury expenses exceed the at-fault party’s liability limits, you can use Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage to pay for the amount not covered by the at-fault person’s insurance. Yes, Farm Bureau offers solid auto insurance coverage at affordable rates, especially when bundled with other policies (e.g., mobile home or ranch insurance).
By obtaining more than one quote you ensure that you are getting the best offer. The providers listed on this page offer a free and convenient online application that makes getting your quote online quick and easy. The insurance companies listed on this page offer the most competitive rates in the industry and by getting multiple quotes for your auto insurance you’re likely to save a significant amount of money each month. There is a relatively small distinction between UM and UIM coverage.
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year.
If you need to make repairs or even replace your vehicle because it has been damaged in an accident, this coverage will take care of that. Some drivers choose not to add on this insurance if they have an older vehicle that would be undrivable should an accident occur. However, drivers who have newer vehicles or would want to have their vehicle repaired if possible should opt-in for this coverage. In Tennessee, there are minimum liabilities required for car insurance policyholders. For drivers with minimum coverage, we adjusted the numbers above to reflect minimum required coverage by law in the state. If you’re denied car insurance on the voluntary market due to past violations, crashes, poor credit or other reasons, you can apply for coverage via the Tennessee Automobile Insurance Plan.
Get your proof of insurance, see your policy, update billing options and more. As of age 15, teens in Tennessee can apply for a learner’s permit. Teens must pass a written driver’s knowledge test and a vision test to receive a learner’s permit, and the permit allows them to drive with a licensed adult driver supervising and sitting in the front seat.
This core coverage type pays for injuries and damages you cause to others in a car accident. But it does not pay for your own vehicle damage or your injuries. Drivers with poor credit in Tennessee really get hammered by higher car insurance rates—even with a clean driving record. Rates can vary dramatically among insurers for poor-credit drivers so it can really pay off to shop around in this situation. A Congressional bill proposed in 2019 would make it illegal for car insurance companies to base rates on anything other than a person’s driving record.
— Kimberly (@kakvsegdagogol) September 23, 2015
Our editorial team receives no direct compensation from advertisers, and our content is thoroughly fact-checked to ensure accuracy. So, whether you’re reading an article or a review, encompass auto insurance you can trust that you’re getting credible and dependable information. Bankrate follows a strict editorial policy, so you can trust that we’re putting your interests first.
Compared to good credit drivers, those in Tennessee with bad credit pay 75 percent more, on average. The good news is that you can still shave some money off your coverage costs if you compare car insurance companies. You’ll see below that the difference among major insurers is nearly $1,250 for a full coverage policy for a driver with bad credit. That’s how much you can potentially save by comparing car insurance quotes.
At-fault accidents, moving violations, and DUIs on your record will result in higher premiums. Drivers in Tennessee between pay the highest insurance premiums on the road in the U.S. Teen drivers and inexperienced drivers have the highest risk of accident, therefore they are more expensive to insure.
Homeowners insurance in Tennessee is comprehensive, and it covers many of the most common perils that homeowners can face. You can look at your policy’s declaration page to see what is and isn’t covered. Tennessee homeowners who live in a green home that is built with sustainable materials should consider Travelers, which offers special coverages and discounts for LEED-certified or eco-friendly homes. Farmers is our top recommendation for Tennessee homeowners who want to save money by taking advantage of discounts. There are 14 discounts available, and most homeowners will qualify for at least one. If you’ve moved to a new state, that state’s DMV has set a period of time you have before it becomes illegal for you to drive the vehicle with out-of-state plates.
The love of eye-catching cars extends to the numerous car museums throughout the state. The Lane Motor Museum just outside Nashville features over 400 quirky and unique vehicles from obscure automakers. Once a year, the Lane Museum holds a Rally for the Lane, when drivers pay to take cars from the collection on an all-day treasure hunt along winding roads through the countryside outside of Nashville. Teen drivers must submit an affidavit signed by a parent or legal guardian guaranteeing financial responsibility. Parents who choose to revoke financial responsibility must sign a form requesting that the teen’s license is canceled.
We are proud to serve customers across Middle Tennessee, and with our years of experience you can put your trust in us to treat you right. Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool.
You may also find that your car insurance rates change over time. Reaching certain age brackets can affect your rates automatically as well. Additionally, if you have been in a collision that affected your auto insurance rates, then you may see lower rates after enough aarp hartford auto insurance time passes from the incident. Find online car insurance quotes right here before applying for a plan. The best way to get the cheapest car insurance in Tennessee and save on your auto insurance premium is to compare quotes from all companies in your area.
For drivers concerned about a rate increase after an at-fault accident, USAA offers accident forgiveness insurance. If you remain accident-free for five years, your premium won’t go up after one at-fault accident. For this reason we incorporated grades of insurance companies from collision repair professionals, supplied by CRASH Network. Collision and comprehensive insurance pay for car repair bills for problems such as car accidents, car theft, fires, floods, severe weather, falling objects and collisions with animals. Before you apply, please review the Summary of Benefits and Coverage for Tennessee health insurance plans.
Tennessee drivers with a good credit score will get slightly higher insurance rates, and vice versa, those with a poor credit rating might pay more for their auto insurance. Don’t let a poor credit rating discourage you, though – our quote calculator will allow you to find cheap auto insurance utah coverage in Tennessee by comparing offers from multiple insurers. Farm Bureau writes car insurance policies in Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia.Does Farm Bureau offer a comprehensive coverage plan?
Aaron was very helpful at the end of 2020 in helping me sort through the many health care options available to consumers for the 2021 calendar year. He was patient in answering all of my questions, and was thorough in presenting the various products available. He followed up with links to the various offerings, which I was able to review for cost and coverage questions. I would definitely use his services again, and would recommend him to others seeking similar advice. It will defray the costs of the other party’s medical bills in an at-fault accident.
If you’re concerned about a rate increase after an accident, Geico offers accident forgiveness insurance which you can pay to add to your policy or earn by maintaining a clean driving record. Geico will waive the first at-fault accident caused by an eligible driver listed on your policy. This pays for injuries and property damage you cause to others. A good rule of thumb is to buy enough car liability insurance to cover what can be taken from you in a lawsuit. You can find free quotes online or by working with an auto insurance agent.
The general recommendation for insurance coverage is $100,000 per injury or death and $300,000 for total injuries or deaths, according to the Insurance Information Institute. The medical payments coverage of your liability insurance policy pays your medical bills regardless of who is at fault in the wreck up to the limits of that insurance coverage. It is not uncommon for these insurance provisions to have medical payments coverage for $50,00 or $10,000.
Car insurance for seniors may also offer additional perks, such as AARP membership, roadside assistance, rideshare credits, and household assistance if an injury occurs due to a car accident. Plates would expire at the end of the insurance coverage period, and licensees would need to return their plates to their insurance office to receive a refund on their premiums. Vehicles driving without insurance would thus be easy to spot because they would not have license plates, or the plates would be past the marked expiration date. A split limit liability coverage policy splits the coverages into property damage coverage and bodily injury coverage. In the example given above, payments for the other driver’s vehicle would be paid out under property damage coverage, and payments for the injuries would be paid out under bodily injury coverage. Auto insurance is a form of financial protection for you and your vehicle, against theft, collisions, and/or liability.
The appraisal clause is generally found in the “Damage to Your Auto” section of your policy. Following are the basic steps involved in the execution of the appraisal clause of most policies. We offer a broad selection of private health insurance plans in Tennessee for individuals and families. We also offer Tennessee small business & group health plans from most of the leading health insurance companies.
You do not legally have to have uninsured motorist insurance coverage in the state of Tennessee, though some other states do require this. We’ll talk a little more about underinsured insurance protection below and whether you should consider it in addition to the minimum coverage. It isn’t a cheap endeavor to replace or repair a car, especially after an accident. That’s why it’s clear that the proposed $15,000 might not be enough for everyone. Whether we’re talking about a small fender bender or something major, property damage protection will help you pay for the costs associated with damaging someone else’s car or property if there’s an accident. Its cheapest coverage runs about $20 to $90 a year, depending on your location and driving history.
Prior to joining CarInsurance.com, she reported and edited articles on technology, lifestyle, education and government for magazines, websites and major newspapers, including the New York Daily News. Via the MyTN software, residents can entry the tncountyclerk.com web site to resume their automobile registration on-line. Moreover, those that have obtained notices from the Tennessee Division of Income to verify their automobile’s insurance coverage protection can entry the division’s Electronic Insurance Verification System. Our network includes many of the top auto insurance providers in the United States. Our auto insurance carrier’s agents can help you obtain the coverage you need on your very first phone call.
I notice other good USAA reviews don’t appear to be reviewing auto injuries/medpay experiences. Yes, they pay car damage and the banking services I’ve had no issues with. However, this company farms out injury claims to “Auto Injury Solutions” who aggressively attempt to shut down claims. I had $50,000 in medpay and had to exhaustively fight for less than $10,000. They lost my business so they could save $2,000 which I paid out of pocket.
The only time you don’t need to insure a vehicle is if it is inoperable. Although USAA offers cheaper full coverage for the average adult driver, Progressive’s costs are lower for student drivers. Car insurers consider young student drivers riskier to cover because they are inexperienced. A student driver in Tennessee pays an average yearly price of $2,367 compared to $1,018 for the average driver. A credit score is only one factor that companies take into consideration so rates will vary for drivers with bad credit.
At age 16 and after holding the learner’s permit for at least 180 days and completing 50 supervised driving hours, teenagers become eligible for a provisional driver’s license. Learning to drive comes with a lot of responsibility, and there quotes on auto insurance are restrictions in place for drivers under age 18. Check with your insurance company before your teen obtains a permit to learn more about adding them to your policy, and for more information on teen driving laws, visit TN Driver Services.